Forget Everything You Know

God’s determined that the year of 2013 will be my year of health exploration.  As much as he’s been transforming my mind, body, and soul, the main lesson I’m being constantly reminded of is: FORGET EVERYTHING YOU KNOW.

It’s a really big lesson that smacks me in the head just about every day, and here’s why:  the world is wrong.  My decision making paradigm has been focused on what the world tells me is healthy, attractive, successful, and expected.  While it’s gotten me to some good places in life, it has definitely left a strain on my mental and physical health.  Worst of all, my spiritual life was consistently inconsistent.

What’s curious to me is how much I’ve been tricked into believing what the world says is correct, even though I try so hard to ignore worldly advice.  I would say it comes down to the way I process advice.  If I stop to ask myself, “Is this what God wants for my life?”, then I can really cut through the smut a lot faster and focus on what Jesus desires.  The trouble comes when I first accept advice before consulting God, and try to work God around it.

Do you find yourself doing this too?  Ask yourself these questions:

  • Am I constantly stressed or tired?
  • Is my body physically healthy?
  • Do I get anxious or overwhelmed frequently?
  • Is my career my primary preoccupation to the point where I exclude my family, friends, and hobbies from my life?
  • Do I skip taking a day of rest every week?
  • Am I forgetting to prioritize God’s will for my life?
  • Is there something lacking in my physical, emotional, mental, or spiritual health?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, then you also need to rewire your brain away from the world.  The world teaches us that these things above are a normal and expected part of a human’s life. We’re taught that being overweight, stressed, and constantly on the go is a natural part of a human’s life, especially a successful one.  American culture in particular tries to cover up these stressors with pills and quick fixes.  While there are those who recommend a healthy diet, exercise, and reading Scripture daily, even the people with the best intentions can inadvertently cause others to focus first on “fixing the problem”, and secondly on God.

What’s the best remedy?  First, rid your mind of everything you think you know: Forget Everything.  Then, completely and absolutely focus your mind on God.  So many people mistakenly try to fit God around what they know rather than letting God shape their hearts, minds, and bodies.  I know I did.  I will be updating based on these topics to share what I’ve learned recently in my own life.  In the meantime, truly think about how you can improve your overall health, and pray that God would give you the wisdom, guidance, and desire to be a healthier you.

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.” Romans 12:2

About Nicole Cragin Davis

Mostly I'm good at inspiring the beauty in chaos to prevail. Also I really like pancakes.

Posted on March 9, 2013, in Forget Everything series, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

